Home > Achievements, Evian Mage > Cursed to be good

Cursed to be good

I’ve changed guilds …

Ever since I joined Mint about a month ago I’ve known that at least two (out of four not including GM) of the officers either hated me or had a dislike for me. It was so bad that in most cases the only way I could get into raids that were forming was to send a tell directly to the guild leader Jujube. Jujube was one of the sweetest guild leaders I’ve seen to date, and literally appeared to have love for everyone.

So I transferred guilds on Wednesday when Jujube promoted a new guild leader and left for a while. I transferred to Cursed, a guild that only started Tuesday of last week with an officer named Fearbringer (and GM Royalblood) who took me on in an Uld10 PUG and was quite impressed with me. Then I got invited to the TOC25 this week just after Jujube (Mint GM) left being guild leader of Mint, joined the raid, and asked for the guild leader to invite me to the guild (Cursed) then one shot NBE and Jaraxxus, and managed to get the priest and the rogue down on FC, but then everything went to hell (CCing on healers was failing). At that point I had to go anyway for dinner at mums, but on every fight I had topped the dps/damage charts convincingly (literally spot 1), and hadn’t failed once (I’ve got Failbot on and active which they like).

Yesterday logged on and saw the guild info said we were 4/5 on 25 TOC, so when the raid formed I got my invite (I think I was the third person invited :P.) and moved up to Argent Tournament Grounds. Went inside and the ground was still up which confused me for a while until I realised that a number of people must have had to have left when Twins was down and that they hadn’t even attempted Anub.

Well, anyway, we broke the ground, got buffed up, and engaged. I specifically asked the Raid leader in a tell whether I could be on Anub instead of Ice due to high dps. No-one changed to the first lot of burrowers… Even still, managed to struggle through with an off tank and two healers dead, but always had too many adds up. Worse, when Anub submerged the first time we only had three patches of ice down despite two hunters being allocated to that job; As soon as I saw this I started bringing down Ice like crazing (blew cooldowns to get enough down to survive the first couple of submerges). We got Anub into phase 3, but just couldn’t keep enough people alive with only 2 healers (yep, we were 5 healing) and a main tank.

I was then re-allocated to ice because they needed someone they could trust on it, and literally it was only me on ice for the next 10 attempts … To say that the floor was covered in ice every time would not be an exaggeration. On almost every attempt there were about four spots on the whole floor that could have fit another ice (with a number of small pathways between ice for movement). Even still, we never could get the boss down, losing to Enrage a few times. Three times one of the off-tanks disconnected, the Boomkin chain disconnected the first three attempts (and got replaced), the priest was afk from when the raid first started the first time (and got kicked obviously), the ele shaman sat doing absolutely nothing near Anub, and when I called him out on vent asking if he was afk he then jumped a few times, but his damage meters didn’t increase 1 point for the next 45 seconds before he got kicked from raid and guild. He then complained on vent that he was there but shut up as soon as I mentioned “The damage meters disagree with you there man”.

We lost to the enrage timer three times. First time we got him down to 0.3% health (400 health) when we wiped … This was with the chain DC boomkin, but the big issue being that two of the druid raid healers were keeping the whole raid topped up the WHOLE time … We would have had it. Other two times we didn’t get Anub below 3.5 mil health before Enrage due to raid leaders changing strat so all ranged stayed on adds all the time if they were up…

Well, anyway, on the 12th and final attempt (it was called as the final attempt before we started) one of the hunters was assigned to ice (the “new” hunter who had joined about the third attempt) and I was re-assigned to Anub. Plenty of ice down, good hunter, check. Wingosa topping ranged damage charts, check (due to the cleave mechanic part with adds under boss melee get to cheat a bit on that one). First lot of adds killed, second lot left up until Anub went down, check. Shaman held off BLUST until P3, check. Anub down, CHECK!!! (Although he did enrage as he died wiping all but two in the raid). Achievement (was only missing Anub previously) CHECK!!!

Then someone calls out on vent “One casters going to be very happy” … I wasn’t even ressed yet but knew what that meant … Reign of the Dead had dropped. Cursed uses loot council, so I figured since I was topping the charts I wouldn’t get that one as another dps obviously needed it more to pull up their stats, but I sent a tell to the officer that originally invited me to the guild (named Fearbringer) saying “Hey man, don’t loot council the trink, just give it to me for being so good at keeping the ice down and topping the ranged dps charts.” I followed up with “Nah, jokes man, whatever is fair.” I then walked away for about 30 seconds to get a drink while they rolled on the plate item that had dropped, came back and just basked in the fact we had killed Anub. Then I saw the tell from about 15 seconds before: Fearbringer had sent a tell that simply said “bid?”. I looked at the raid chat, a whole wall of people posting their Sundial of the Exiled … They were bidding on Reign of the Dead first, and the “bidding” started about 25 seconds before … SH*T!

I rushed to type out “BID:[Mithril Pocketwatch]“. Two seconds later, “Wingosa receives loot [Reign of the Dead]” (obviously they’d already discussed it in /o). No-one called Ninja. No one raged. I was dumbfounded. I intentionally didn’t bid on the cloth boots that dropped.

I’m going to be happy about that loot for a long time, and I’m loving this new guild already. I got the guild leader to invite Wingood to Cursed and started continuing on levelling (level 66 now. Two more to Northrend!). Then I saw it in guild: A TOC10 was forming, with Fearbringer leading. I asked “Do you want me to change over?”, was told “yep”, so logged back to Wingosa, and got into TOC10. We one shot everything up to Anub, with the only deaths occurring on Twins (seriously, it’s not THAT hard …). Faction Champs was priest, holy paladin, rogue, shaman, boomkin and mage. We killed them in that order. The priest was down in 10.56 seconds. The paladin was down before BLUST finished. Wow. Just Wow. On Anub of this run Fearbringer said “So everyone, same strategy as on 25″ to which the response came back from someone “So, what? Wipe 10 times first?” Unfortunately, we then proceeded to wipe three times … Fail. At this point someone said on vent “Ok guys, this is the last attempt, and is really pretty bad. No more screwing around, keep vent clear, no joking, let’s do this or we disband.” … We downed it, no wipe, no deaths. The funniest part of that was we had two druid healers and a holy paladin, none of which were able to respec dps. We were all at constant 100% health on Phase 3 due to two rejuv’s on all, but with the insane amount of dps in the raid (partly thanks to me ;).) we had no problems burning through the leach of everyone’s 100% health.

One of the mages in Cursed is Semaphore who was in the guild I was in before Mint. Back then I had a lot of respect for him, he was always 1k dps higher than me, and I looked up to him as the pinnacle of what I wanted to be. Then I respecced Arcane (was still Fire, yeah I missed that bandwagon), got a couple of item upgrades and now I’m 2k dps over Semaphore in most cases. He even asked me if I would carry him (as a joke).

I’m happy and enjoying Wingosa again. Yay! Also, I think I’m an actual core raider with a rank of raider (as opposed to a constantly benched with rank of core raider) …

  1. Nuggz
    November 6, 2009 at 10:38 pm | #1

    damn boy you got yourself a blogggg

  2. Albz
    November 7, 2009 at 12:48 am | #2

    ooooh shit. check yourself fool. this blog is pimpin’

  3. Albz
    November 7, 2009 at 3:53 am | #3

    on my first run, doing anubarak i didnt realise the lil adds gave a debuff. p3 comes around, and im tanking adds with 36,000 damage every 3 seconds! thank god i wasnt on boss. thanks to Nuggetski and the other healers for keeping me alive :D we finished the run without me dying. (now in )ftw. p.s CHEESE IT

  4. Albz
    November 7, 2009 at 3:55 am | #4

    wow. it misse

    Albz :
    on my first run, doing anubarak i didnt realise the lil adds gave a debuff. p3 comes around, and im tanking adds with 36,000 damage every 3 seconds! thank god i wasnt on boss. thanks to Nuggetski and the other healers for keeping me alive we finished the run without me dying. IMPLICIT (now in CURSED )ftw. p.s CHEESE IT

    thats what it should of said :(

  5. Sema
    November 19, 2009 at 9:51 am | #5

    [quote]One of the mages in Cursed is Semaphore who was in the guild I was in before Mint. Back then I had a lot of respect for him, he was always 1k dps higher than me, and I looked up to him as the pinnacle of what I wanted to be. Then I respecced Arcane (was still Fire, yeah I missed that bandwagon), got a couple of item upgrades and now I’m 2k dps over Semaphore in most cases. He even asked me if I would carry him.[/quote]

    Got bored at work and came in for a read, and noticed this section. So this was what you were talking about. Wow.

    • November 19, 2009 at 11:30 am | #6

      Hi Sema,

      This was not an insult, although based on your response I presume you took it as such? I did notice your dps/damage last night, and it was very respectable. The part that you quoted was not a downtalking of yourself but it was a point of reference that allowed me to evaluate my own progress.

      Oh, and the part where you asked me to carry you was true, and yes I know you were joking. I updated the post to state that this was a joke (I thought I had in the first place).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

